Esittelyssä uusi ankkuri: Ondřej Metelka

Ankkurin miesten ryhmä vahvistuu ensi kaudelle. Tšekin maajoukkueessakin jo kesän maailmancupissa kotimaassaan esiintynyt Ondrej Metelka liittyy seuraan! ”Ondra” on 22-vuotiaana kehittyvänä ja tavoitteellisena suunnistajana erittäin tervetullut lisä kehittyvään, nuorekkaaseen ja kansainväliseen edustusryhmäämme.

Tämän Ankkuri-perheen uusimman jäsenen perinteinen tervetulohaastattelu.

Name: Ondřej Metelka

Born: 9. 7. 2001

Best accomplishments so far:
Being selected to WUOC 2022 (middle, long, relay) and World Cup in Czechia this year (middle, long). Results not important😄
IOF Eventor Profile

Why and how you became an orienteer?
As a kid, I always wanted to be a navigator when going somewhere by car, so my parents who knew about orienteering from university, brought me to a club training, and the sport really got me (or so they told me, I don"t really remember).

Where do you live and what do you study?
I am from Hradec Králové (Eastern Bohemia), but I am currently studying AI in Brno (Southern Moravia), where I live in a "villa" with 12 other orienteers from all across Czechia and Slovakia.

Plans and goals for next season and beyond:
Generally I would like to improve my orienteering skills to get to real elite (at least Czech-wise) level, hopefully run WUOC next year and maybe visit Finland for WOC in two years 😄 But the main goal is to keep enjoying this sport in many years same as do now.

Previous clubs:
Just my home club OK99 Hradec Králové.

Why did you choose Ankkuri?
I was at a camp in Finland with other people from Czechia this August and one of them, Miloš Nykodým, met a guy from Ankkuri (I think it was Mikko Sirén) during training, so he asked him about me and that was it. I like you refer to yourself as a "family" and the communication I yet had with Maco was just great. Plus I think you have very cool name and logo!😄

Favourite terrain:
The more demanding (physically or technically) the better. But please no nettles or blackberry bushes.

I met Thierry Gueorgiou in person and he made a great impression to me (besides from what he did during his orienteering career).

Favourite relay leg:
The one I finish without any mistake - I hope there will be many of those.

Best orienteering memory:
WUOC banquet, if that counts😄

Other hobbies:
I play viola (a little bigger violin) and I love it. If you are from musical environment, you may have probably heard some jokes about us - here is one in English:
What do have a lawyer and a viola player in common? Everybody"s happier when the case is closed.

Favourite dish and drink:
I like both foreign and Czech cuisine, so I"m going to say pizza and beer.

Marital status:

Free style or classic style?
I think I am more classical person, but experimenting mood comes from time to time.

Instagram (@_metelesku_blesku), but I am not a frequent poster there.

Greetings to your new club mates
Hi everyone, can"t wait to meet you and looking forward to do some orienteering and have fun with you!

Vítejte Ondra!

Vesa Mäkinen - 17.10.2023, 15:03